Our Work

Municipal Biodiversity Fund

Today, as we face the two major environmental challenges of biodiversity loss and climate change, regional county municipalities (RCMs) and cities can play a key role in conserving natural environments. Woodlands, peat bogs, meadows and other natural areas can ensure greater population resilience in the face of climate disruption, while contributing to population health.

Note :

The maximum number of municipalities, cities or RCMs that can join the Municipal Biodiversity Fund has now been reached for the year 2020–2021. CPAWS Quebec hopes to welcome you in 2021–2022, depending on available funding

Many thanks to the many Quebec municipalities that have expressed interest in the Fund!

For the list of member cities, click here. 

A tool to ensure access to nature for future generations

The Municipal Biodiversity Fund (MBF) is an initiative of CPAWS Quebec, in collaboration with the Fondation de la faune du Québec.

It is a tool that allows RCMs and cities to effectively assist in meeting major environmental challenges, by carrying out projects to protect and improve natural environments in their vicinity. In addition, member cities support Plan Nous, which permits the twinning of communities in northern and southern Quebec and facilitates a better understanding of issues affecting wildlife habitat protection.

Each RCM or city in Quebec is invited to make a voluntary contribution to the Fund

By paying a maximum of $1 per household or tax unit per year into a fund reserved for them. The MBF automatically increases the member municipality's contribution at a variable annual rate. For fiscal years 2019–2020, 2020–2021 and 2021–2022, the MBF will be 100% matched.

By using the accumulated amounts to carry out projects to protect natural environments, in collaboration with community partners.

The cities of Boucherville, Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville and Granby were the first to join the MBF in Quebec. To date, 45 cities have joined. For these municipalities, this is a tangible new commitment to protecting natural environments, and it will assuredly inspire others in Quebec.

© Sylvie Jacques, Neil Harvey Unsplash

The member cities

Aston Jonction, Baie-du-Febvre, Boucherville, Brossard, Canton de gore, Canton de Lochaber-Partie-Ouest, Carignan, Chambly, Chelsea, Coteau-du-Lac, Granby, Donnaconna, Eastman, Joliette, Lorraine, Magog, Mascouche, Mont-Saint-Hilaire, MRC des Sources, MRC Nicolet Yamaska, MRCMasterville, MRC Coaticook, MRC Drummond, MRC Brome-Missisquoi, MRC Papineau, Nicolet, Otterburn Park, Percé, Pont Rouge, Rosemère, Sainte-Adèle, Saint-Alexandre, Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, Saint-André de Kamouraska, Saint-Charles-sur-Richelieu, Saint-Constant, Saint-Pascal, Saint-Zotique, Saint-Hyacinthe, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Varennes, Victoriaville



Learn more

Plein aire

Learn more

Lower St. Lawrence

En savoir plus